PhotoPlog

Go Back   PhotoPlog > PhotoPlog Lite > "How Do I..." Questions
Screens Demo Purchase Download Register

Reply
Attention: Last reply in this thread was more than 18 Years ago
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-14-2006, 12:11 PM
saint@t-og.net saint@t-og.net is offline
Green Plog
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Gallery: 0
Comments: 0
Default extensions

hi, currently you can't upload .bmp files to photoplog, does anyone know how I can make my gallery capable of doing this?

Please help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:14 PM
Nitro Nitro is offline
Yellow Plog
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 63
Gallery: 0
Comments: 0
Default

I am guessing you would need to make changes in upload.php edit.php and to the thumb creating function in functions.php.

As to exactly what code you would need to add I dont know, I would guess the thumb code would be the hardest element tho.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2006, 03:32 PM
saint@t-og.net saint@t-og.net is offline
Green Plog
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Gallery: 0
Comments: 0
Default

yea, i think im guna have to look at it myself because noone else seems to know :S ty anyway
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2006, 04:02 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Head Plog
Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,324
Gallery: 10
Comments: 25
Default

PhotoPlog Lite uses the GD library for image processing, but it is currently not possible to process BMP files using the GD library. Not sure why, but perhaps it is because BMP files tend to be rather large and might lend more to size and timeout issues. That said, you could edit files like Nitro suggests, using this:
Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
Instead of this:
Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
And using this:
Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
Instead of this:
Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
Though there is still the thumbs issue, where you could use width / height attributes to resize, but basically there would need to be some rewrite of the code, whether through the use of the ImageMagick program or custom BMP functions, to account for the lack of BMP support in the GD library.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:16 AM
saint@t-og.net saint@t-og.net is offline
Green Plog
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Gallery: 0
Comments: 0
Default

i have already been through and changed

Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
to
Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
was there any reason it should be 6?

Also I changed
Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
To
Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
I was wondering, with bmp the file types are infact bitmap imamges where as jpg ones are jpeg and in the coding jpeg is used do you think that I need to put in

Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
At the moment with the edits I have made uploading 'bmp' doesnt work. (Says sorry: user bad file)

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:43 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Head Plog
Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,324
Gallery: 10
Comments: 25
Default

Number 4 is for SWF files, number 6 is for BMP files. The bitmap MIME Type is image/bmp though there might be others:
Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
These changes alone won't get around the bigger issue: PhotoPlog Lite uses the GD library for image processing, but it is currently not possible to process BMP files using the GD library, so there would need to be some rewrite of the code, whether through the use of the ImageMagick program or custom BMP functions, to account for the lack of BMP support in the GD library.

ImageMagick binaries can be run via hell through the use of the exec function. Custom BMP functions are functions that would need to be created to handle BMP files. ImageMagick is probably preferable, but not every hosting account has ImageMagick or allows the exec function. For larger than large BMP files, custom BMP functions might be too slow to be of any real use.

Either way though, it is possible to upload BMP files but not with a quick edit here or there.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2006, 02:00 PM
saint@t-og.net saint@t-og.net is offline
Green Plog
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Gallery: 0
Comments: 0
Default

ok i have changed the 4 to 6 from my previous edits, ow instead of saying "bad file" it says "bad save"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2006, 02:10 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Head Plog
Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,324
Gallery: 10
Comments: 25
Default

That's because PhotoPlog Lite cannot make thumbs from BMP files, because PhotoPlog Lite uses the GD library for image processing, but it is currently not possible to process BMP files using the GD library, so there would need to be...
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2006, 02:15 PM
saint@t-og.net saint@t-og.net is offline
Green Plog
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Gallery: 0
Comments: 0
Default

ok, not to worry, im guna have to live with JPG's, its going to be hard trying to teach the gamers! they aren't too good with designs/ images. In your postbit you have a link to your gallery... Is this a released mod? If so where can i find this cheers. ty for the help
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2006, 02:31 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Head Plog
Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,324
Gallery: 10
Comments: 25
Default

Think of the bandwidth you'll save using JPGs instead of BMPs.

The gallery link (with count) in postbit is part of the pro version.

You can add a general link by using the following in postbit:
Code:
Content visible to registered users only.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.